These are the names we found on the Nigerian government newly released list of alleged looters

In a quest to put an end to corruption which has plagued the nation for years, the Nigerian government on Sunday, released the second list of alleged looters of the treasury during the Goodluck Jonathan administration.

Since the creation of modern public administration in the country, there have been cases of official misuse of funds and resources, as political corruption is a persistent phenomenon in Nigeria.

The new list that was released during a press conference has 23 names of alleged looters which the Information and Culture Minister, Lai Mohammed said was based on verifiable facts, including the amount involved, the date the amount in question was collected and from where it was taken.

Here are the names that made the list and the amount allegedly embezzled

  1. Former National Security Agency (NSA) Sambo Dasuki: Based on the country’s Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) investigations and findings alone aside an ongoing $2.1 billion military equipment scandal, a total of N126 billion, over $1.5 billion and 5.5 million British Pounds was embezzled through his office. A good number of these amounts were simply shared to persons and companies without any formal contract awards.
  2. Former Petroleum Resources Minister Diezani Alison-Madueke: In just one of the cases the EFCC is investigating involving her, about N23 billion is alleged to have been embezzled. She is also involved in the Strategic Alliance Contracts of the NNPC, where the firms of Jide Omokore and Kola Aluko got oil blocks but never paid government taxes and royalty with about $3 billion was involved.
  3. Lt.Gen. Kenneth Minimah: N13.9 billion.
  4. Gen. Azubuike Ihejirika: N4.5 billion. N29m recovered by the EFCC so far.
  5. Alex Badeh, former Chief of Defence Staff: N8 billion
  6. Inde Dikko, former CG Customs: N40 billion and N1.1 billion in cash
  7. Air Marshal Adesola Amosun: N21.4 billion.
  8. Senator Bala Abdulkadir, former FCT Minister: N5 billion.
  9. Senator Stella Oduah: N9.8 billion.
  10. Babangida Aliyu, former Governor of Niger State: N1.6 billion – from NSA.
  11. Senator Jonah Jang, former Governor of Plateau State: N12.5 billion.
  12. Bashir Yuguda, former Minister of State for Finance: N1.5 billion.
  13. Senator Peter Nwaboshi: N1.5 billion
  14. Aliyu Usman, former NSA Dasuki’s aide: N512 million
  15. Ahmad Idris, former NSA Dasuki’s PA: N5 billion
  16. Rasheed Ladoja, former Governor of Oyo State: N500 million
  17. Tom Ikimi: N300 million
  18. Femi Fani-Kayode: N866 million
  19. Hassan Tukur, former PPS to President Goodluck: $1.7 million
  20. Nenadi Usman: N1.5 billion
  21. Benedicta Iroha: N1.7 billion
  22. Aliyu Usman Jawaz, a close ally of former NSA Dasuki: N882 million
  23. Godknows Igali: Over N7 billion

The Information Minister noted that the list was strategically released as a teaser, from the government’s large list of alleged looters. “I did say it was a tip of the iceberg,” the minister said.

Statistics revealed that between an 8-year period from 2006-2013, 25 people allegedly embezzled about $6.8 billion funds that could cater for a 635 kilometers dual carriage and 20,000 housing units, with enough money left to construct one model hospital in the federation, close to 180 schools that can educate almost 4,000 children from primary to tertiary level.

There has been a serious battle against corruption since the coming into power of President Muhammadu Buhari in 2015, though opposition party in the West African State accuse the present administration of wanting to paint the past administration in a bad light.

However, Mohammed Lai on behalf of the Buhari administration noted that the Nigerian government will not be intimidated or blackmailed into silence, and neither will it rest until all those who looted the public treasury have been brought to justice.